Suicidal Grace

Trepierre Foundation

My son’s death triggered all kinds of emotions and memories for me. I read comments that said that people20150917_093355 (1) who commit suicide are selfish. I am here to tell you that I understand the pain of the one that has attempted or has committed suicide. I do not come from a place of empathy, but from a place of first-hand experience. I too attempted suicide years ago.

After coming home from prison I made the decision to live a legit life and do everything by the book. I didn’t know how hard it would be to honor that commitment. I found myself homeless, with no job, no money, unable to provide for my children, and literally sleeping on park benches and eventually staying in a shelter. I felt like I was a burden to my family and friends because I couldn’t even take care of the basics for myself.

The…

View original post 477 more words

2 thoughts on “Suicidal Grace

  1. My heart is breaking for your son and the millions of people suffering from abuse, trauma or mental illness. My own brother self medicated for years and eventually overdosed. I appreciate what you are doing to honor your son and help others. And to those who criticize suicidal folks or mentally ill consider yourself blessed to have not experienced mind numbing pain or depression.

    Like

Leave a Reply

